Yvette Cooper tops the charts

Following on from my last post listing all the candidates running for Labour’s Shadow Cabinet, the votes are now in (via the BBC).

Yvette Cooper MP came in with the highest votes. Eight women in total were voted in within the 19 that were chosen by Labour MPs to form the new Shadow Cabinet, which is just over 42%. This is, thankfully, more than the required minimum that was set, 31.5% or six in total, but less than the 50% Harriet Harman had called for in June.

Will be interesting to see which portfolios are given to the women by Ed Miliband over the next day or so.

Just a reminder that Harriet Harman MP will also be part of the Shadow Cabinet through her role as Deputy Leader, as will several others including Ed Miliband, Rosie Winterton, Tony Lloyd, Lady Royall and Lord Bassam (via the Guardian).

The new cabinet members listed by votes are:

Yvette Cooper – 232 votes

John Healey – 192 votes

Ed Balls – 179 votes

Andy Burnham – 165 votes

Angela Eagle – 165 votes

Alan Johnson – 163 votes

Douglas Alexander – 160 votes

Jim Murphy – 160 votes

Tessa Jowell – 152 votes

Caroline Flint – 139 votes

John Denham – 129 votes

Hilary Benn – 128 votes

Sadiq Khan – 128 votes

Mary Creagh – 119 votes

Ann McKechin – 117 votes

Maria Eagle – 107 votes

Meg Hillier – 106 votes

Ivan Lewis – 104 votes

Liam Byrne – 100 votes